Google+

forums

Product Chat / FYI public preview issues with my weather system/time of day system

Author
Message
Bolt Action Gaming
GameGuru Tool Maker
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA (USA)
Posted: 7th Dec 2017 15:23
I'm glad to note the actual time of day transitioning still works as intended. That part functions great.

But it appears in the PP the fog has gone back to being one that doesn't affect the sky again on it's sky shader. I'm not sure why that change would be made but I'd really prefer to not have my users have to modify their shaders to make it work. My bet is an older shader got converted by accident.

The other issue I'm running into is the rainbox by algostep ceased functioning. Probably another issue of a shader update given I think it uses a decal of some sort. I haven't had a chance to really dig into it.

The lighting system *MOSTLY* worked fine though I noticed some issue with the chase lights and the static map I used for the 'fire' light. So that's something.

MOSTLY it's a win. My code is functional in the new preview which is my most relevant concern; that all functions well. Beyond that it's mostly some shader updates.
Belidos
3D Media Maker
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 7th Dec 2017 15:43 Edited at: 7th Dec 2017 15:44
Quote: "given I think it uses a decal of some sort"


Yeah. it uses the x64 shader which if i remember right isn't a default shader, i'm sure it was included in the download (i'll have to try and find it again and see), so it might needs fixing.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
Bolt Action Gaming
GameGuru Tool Maker
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA (USA)
Posted: 7th Dec 2017 17:39
Any literature you know of on how to correct that? I don't know how to modify shaders to make them DX11 compatible.
vrg
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 7th Dec 2017 18:31
Anyone having problems with speed , I am getting low FPS at the moment
Teabone
3D Media Maker
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: 7th Dec 2017 19:28
Game Guru crashes for me even when I use the new DX11 updated animated shaders. animate 4 and 8 crash my computer pretty hardcode.
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link | Patreon - Teabone3

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
Preben
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 8th Dec 2017 10:12 Edited at: 8th Dec 2017 10:13
Bolt Action Gaming:

The version i added to settings.fx , are fixed and working in DX11 , did you try that ?

#define ADDSKYBOXFOG

edit: remember you need forceloadtestgameshaders=1 , to make changes to settings.fx
best regards Preben Eriksen,

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Bolt Action Gaming
GameGuru Tool Maker
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA (USA)
Posted: 8th Dec 2017 18:26
Preben, thanks, I will try to test tonight.

Bolt Action Gaming
GameGuru Tool Maker
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA (USA)
Posted: 9th Dec 2017 18:53 Edited at: 9th Dec 2017 18:56
That fixes the sky fog issue however I don't understand why this was changed from 'general implementation' to a test setting that requires what will amount to extensive modification of settings (despite the ease of doing this, I guarantee you people will complain about it.)

Shrug. Now I need to dig into why algostep's effect_animate64 needs 'hlsl 5.0'. Any thoughts on that preben?

edit: found another issue. Appears the modification of global specular via Lua doesn't work at all anymore.

Was that something new?
Preben
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 10th Dec 2017 10:05
Quote: "That fixes the sky fog issue however I don't understand why this was changed from 'general implementation' to a test setting that requires what will amount to extensive modification of settings (despite the ease of doing this, I guarantee you people will complain about it.)"


It has always been a setting you needed to activate , i have never put it on by default ? , perhaps you was using another shader ?

Quote: "Shrug. Now I need to dig into why algostep's effect_animate64 needs 'hlsl 5.0'. Any thoughts on that preben?"

You should be able to use the included decal shaders that are already converted to hlsl5.0 , but currently we cant use decals in the Public Preview they kind of crash the editor , so that will have to wait until we are able to test decals again



best regards Preben Eriksen,
Honkeyboy
Valued Member
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Sep 2015
Location: Doesnt know half the time ;)
Posted: 10th Dec 2017 16:09 Edited at: 10th Dec 2017 16:10
Lee already fixed this but maybe forgot to include it
Fixed animate64.fx hlsl5.0 compatable included
Intel i5 4950 Quad core 3.3ghz AMD FX 6300 x6 cores 3.5ghz(unclocked)
8gb Ram 8gb Ram
AMD Radeon 7570 1gb AMD Radeon HD 6670 2gb
and a well fed mouse on a wheel

I only smile because i have absolutely no idea whats going on

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Bolt Action Gaming
GameGuru Tool Maker
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA (USA)
Posted: 10th Dec 2017 20:58
And that certainly did the trick.

With respect to the sky thing, maybe I did a change and didn't remember it preben. I will have to bear that in mind for the future.
Thanks for the heads up and the assistance.
Bolt Action Gaming
GameGuru Tool Maker
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA (USA)
Posted: 11th Dec 2017 02:25
Last thing needed is to figure out this specularity thing. Anyone seen that the global specular slider appears to do literally nothing to objects in the world as well as terrain specularity? It *DOES* affect gun specularity though.
Teabone
3D Media Maker
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: 11th Dec 2017 03:04 Edited at: 11th Dec 2017 18:36
I think you need the following textures for that slider to work now:

_color.dds
_gloss.dds
_metalness.dds
_normal.dds

As far as I know. The weapons seem to now have these additional textures. I think someone more experienced with the PBR stuff could better explain. I know there is a way to turn it off in the setup. But I doubt everyone will do that.
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link | Patreon - Teabone3

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
Bolt Action Gaming
GameGuru Tool Maker
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA (USA)
Posted: 11th Dec 2017 14:21
Ugh, that's a kick in the pants.
Basically ensures *ONLY* pbr assets are going to work with that slider then?
What about the droves of other assets that have specularity mapping but aren't PBR compliant?
Teabone
3D Media Maker
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: 16th Jan 2018 18:08
Preben or Lee will need to confirm. As I'm not 100% on this.
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link | Patreon - Teabone3

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
Bolt Action Gaming
GameGuru Tool Maker
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA (USA)
Posted: 16th Jan 2018 22:20
I made a few updates a few weeks ago to the updated copies that *should* fix them on PP. But it still doesn't work for specular, unfortunately. I will email Lee to see what he knows with respect to non-functioning specularity.
c4ever08
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2015
Location:
Posted: 10th Feb 2018 18:06
i was wondering also for pbr to work on ebe does the textures have to be in the same setup gloss.dds metal.dds ect ive been using spec maps i can get it to look good once im done building a model in ebe but as soon as you save it the speculiar shiny
look goes away
PM
Teabone
3D Media Maker
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: 11th Feb 2018 17:18
I think specular, for the most part is controlled individually from the object panel now since the PBR release? Otherwise i think the only way for Global Specular to work is by having PBR textures included.
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link | Patreon - Teabone3

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
Bolt Action Gaming
GameGuru Tool Maker
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA (USA)
Posted: 13th Feb 2018 18:40
I've added some compatibility components to the time of day and weather system, as well as some updates that fix things such as time, white colored textures via high specular value (50x normal!) for snow, and PP components as mentioned (specifically custom PP specific FPE's for the weather decals).

Users are recommended to re-update to get the most stable version.
Thanks!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-02-23 16:20:18
Your offset time is: 2018-02-23 16:20:18