Scripts / moving platform problem

Author
Message
imothep85
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 28th Oct 2017 10:18
hi im using the script for moving platform from here.

https://forum.game-guru.com/outbound?url=https%3A%2F%2Fforum.game-guru.com%2Fthread%2F207801%3Fpage%3D10%23msg2534315

how to make the player stay/follow on the platform when the platform is moving???
actually character dont stay on the platform, when the platform movest the player fall... thats very stupid, imagine that in a 2d game.... when youre on a platform elevator or anything you cant fall untill you move...

how can i solve that?
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 28th Oct 2017 11:39
Move the player with the platform.

https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/216730
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
imothep85
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 28th Oct 2017 12:10
where i can download the right script???
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 28th Oct 2017 12:33
Second post in that link. Read the whole thread and hunt down the original thread for full instructions and example usage.
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
imothep85
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 28th Oct 2017 12:43 Edited at: 28th Oct 2017 14:37
the script does nothing, my platform doesnt move at all.... do i have to change something in the script?
im not testing a 3rd person view, just a basic fps view i want to make moving platforms thats all...
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 28th Oct 2017 16:45
Yes, you need to put the movement sequence in the script, instructions are in the original thread.
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
imothep85
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 28th Oct 2017 18:09 Edited at: 28th Oct 2017 18:12
well what i have to change i understand nothing to those scripts...
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 28th Oct 2017 19:20
That's why you need to read the original thread.

https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/216495#msg2560607
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
imothep85
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 29th Oct 2017 08:14 Edited at: 29th Oct 2017 08:25
ok the platform is moving i use this one
["plat4"] = {"Z400", "p1", "Z-400", "p1"}

but the character doesnt stay on the moving platform...

if i try one of those

{["plat1"] = {"y300;x-100","t90","x100","y-300;t90","z100;t90", "z-100", "t90"},
["plat2"] = {"x200","p5","y200","p5","x200;t75","p5","x-400","p5","y-200;t-75","p5"},
["plat3"] = {"v20","x-300;y300;t90;z200","v20;x300;y-300;t-90;z-200"},

the character stay on the platform, but its not the kind of movement i need, i just need left to right platform movement ["plat4"] = {"Z400", "p1", "Z-400", "p1"}

i also want to hide the numbers who are visible att he bottom screen...
imothep85
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 29th Oct 2017 09:01
SOLVED BY CHANGING:
["plat4"] = {radius = 300, height = 20},

to

["plat4"] = {radius = 300, length = 200, width = 200, height = 20},

now the character stay on the moving platform.
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2016
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posted: 29th Oct 2017 13:15
The numbers are for debugging purposes, just find the Prompt command that displays them and comment it out.

As you have probably realised you can have as many platforms (or any entity, good for doors as well) as you want moving in as many ways as you want, as long as the name of the entity matches the name in the list the script will know what to do with it.
Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
imothep85
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posted: 29th Oct 2017 17:13 Edited at: 29th Oct 2017 17:20
SOLVED:

if g_PlayerThirdPerson == 0 then
Prompt(yrot .. ", " .. g_PlayerAngY)

replaced by

if g_PlayerThirdPerson == 0 then
--Prompt(yrot .. ", " .. g_PlayerAngY)

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-24 07:17:56
Your offset time is: 2024-04-24 07:17:56