Google+

forums

Bug Reports / Lines and Weird Shadows

Author
Message
Teabone
Valued Member
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: 18th Jul 2017 05:29
Okay this is the 6th time this has happened. Where I get these grid lines in the ground and this weird square massive shadow that follows the player. Even on brand new maps both these things are happening again. Has this happened to anyone else and does anyone know the cause? Or at least how to fix?

I feel like this is all related to the shader of the terrain.
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GT 740

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Belidos
3D Media Maker
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 18th Jul 2017 06:14 Edited at: 18th Jul 2017 06:15
Change to another terrain set in test then back to custom and it should fix it.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
Preben
13
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 30th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 18th Jul 2017 11:48
Teabone: I did look at this bug before , and its not a shader problem , i found that the problem is that the _N mipmaps is not always correctly generated , not sure why but changing terrain or restarting GG fix it.
Lee: could it be a gpu mem problem, _D seams to always work ?
best regards Preben Eriksen,
Teabone
Valued Member
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: 26th Jul 2017 02:42
This is starting to be a big problem for me. Its happening quite regularly.
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960
Its 42
Game Guru Backer
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2014
Location: Germany
Posted: 29th Jul 2017 21:01 Edited at: 29th Jul 2017 21:14
Hi, i had at first the complete same problem then i changed some Terraintextures and it changed to the state that i have at the moment.
now the lines appear more in the Back, they are more visible at the hills-below the pines, and almost every weapon and Ammunition Shadows are a bit blocky, Something wrong with the cinderblocks(stack)to- most other Media looks good.
System Specs: OS - Windows 10 Pro 64-bit , CPU - AMD RYZEN 7 1800X @ 3.6Ghz,Mainboard - CROSSHAIR VI HERO X370, Memory - 8Gb Dual channel DDR4 @ 2132.4Mhz/FULL@ 4133Mhz, Graphics - 8192MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080@ 1607Mhz, SSD- Samsung +HDD

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
Preben
13
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 30th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 31st Jul 2017 09:51
Teabone: There is a good chance that the DX11 upgrade will fix this, as Lee HAS to change the mipmapping code to fit DX11 , so i hope this will also change the terrain _N mipmap problem

Its 42: This is another shadow bug i seen before , and again the shadow code is going to change, and the DX11 upgrade could fix this.
If you look at your pines you see that they have no shadows , normally the shadows is faded slowly away when you reach the last shadow cascade , somehow it dont always do this , i assume the last cascade distance is not (always) set correctly in the shaders, but again this is also going to change in the upgrade , so lets wait and see
best regards Preben Eriksen,
Peri
Game Guru Backer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 3rd Sep 2017 13:36
Teabone, sometimes its happen to me but after I exit GG and open it again its back to normal.
reliquia
GameGuru TGC Backer
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2015
Location: South Australia
Posted: 5th Sep 2017 05:44
Yeah I was working on a set of terrain textures for my cartoon series, and found this bug happens - a lot!

For me it would happen after changing several terrain textures, occasionally just selecting another\same texture again would fix it, but most of the time it requires a GG restart, which just gets super annoying when trying to fine-tune 16 plus textures - so annoying I gave up on developing the textures in the end.

This was an obvious bug introduced with the 16 texture terrain system. I am sure it will get addressed - one day - in the mean time it is one of several issues that made the new terrain system a bad addition in my opinion

Reliquia....
aka OldFlak
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4160 @ 3,60GHz. 8GB Ram. NVidia GeForce GTX 750. Acer 24" Monitors x 2 @ 1920 x 1080. Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.
PM
Teabone
Valued Member
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: 6th Oct 2017 23:26 Edited at: 8th Oct 2017 20:22
Hopefully this is fixed in the next build as it is ruining one of my projects that uses shadows and ambient fog.
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GTX 960

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2017-10-24 10:44:09
Your offset time is: 2017-10-24 10:44:09