Google+

forums

Competitions / [STICKY] Easy Building Editor Competition

Author
Message
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 13th Jul 2017 12:38
You may use this thread to post your thoughts and questions about the competition, and perhaps even tease your competitors with preview shots of your progress. Here is the link to the official competition page: https://www.game-guru.com/news-post/gameguru-screenshot-competition. Have fun and good luck!
PC SPECS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit, Intel Core i7-5930K (PASSMARK:13645), NVIDIA Geforce GTX 980 GPU (PASSMARK:9762) , 32GB RAM

Belidos
3D Media Maker
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 13th Jul 2017 12:53
Quote: "The structure should be viewed from the outside, so no shots taken from the interior for this competition"


That seems to be an odd rule considering the EBE was primarily designed to create interior scenes.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
DVader
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 13th Jul 2017 13:31
Hmm, not my thing at all, but good luck to anyone excited by this!
SPECS: Ryzen 1700 CPU. Nvidia 970GTX. 16 Gig Memory. Win 10.
Tarkus1971
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 24th Feb 2015
Location: England, UK
Posted: 13th Jul 2017 15:57
I will probably give it a go, not really played with the EBE, done a few buildings, but it seems once you go inside I'm getting FPS drops, I don't know why, maybe the collision on the walls and the players capsule?
Aftershock Quad Core AMD FM2+ 3.5 GHz 8GB Motherboard and Processor, A7700k apu, Asus GT970 STRIX 4gb Nvidia gfx card.
King Korg Synth, Alesis SR18 Drum Machine, Akai MPX8 sample player, Roland Fantom XA Synth, Axus Digital AXK2 Digital Drum Kit, Novation Ultranova Synth, Waldorf Blofeld Synth.
GraPhiX
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Location: Old Trafford - Lancashire
Posted: 13th Jul 2017 16:05 Edited at: 13th Jul 2017 16:13
I used the EBE quite a lot when it first came out, all of my levels were made with the EBE but I started to have texture issues, I think most of them are solved now, going to carry on with my level once DX11 finished I may enter one of my buildings from that level took me ages to make it
Welcome to the real world!
Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-2600K @3.40GHz - 32.0GB RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 4x500GB SSD Striped

Attachments

Login to view attachments
JonRobbo
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2017
Location: UK
Posted: 13th Jul 2017 16:21 Edited at: 13th Jul 2017 16:29
Can we use the roofs and steps Bod made for using with ebe ? * I just read the rules, ignore the question.

MrEaKing(YT)
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2017
Location: Ontario
Posted: 13th Jul 2017 18:19 Edited at: 15th Jul 2017 05:41
I know it says "Finally, do not attach any entities directly to your structure. This is a test of your block building skills!" but can we still add in windows and doors? This is what I have so far but it'll look kinda weird without windows or doors i guess i could do a texture like i did for the garage door but was just wondering.


---edit: another idea putting image to hopefully spark someones imagination.
--I want my building to look good and not from minecraft lol so taking my time hence the 2 different styles partially done. probably start a third style next.

--finally got something ok going but think i'm gonna start over again lol.

-- I shoot I miss lol tried to do skyscraper but hit height limit lol.
Youtube.com/MrEaKing

ELC - Explore, Learn and Create.

Desktop - HomeBuilt- Win 7 - AMD-FX 8300 Eight Core 3.30 Ghz
12 GB RAM
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Teabone
Valued Member
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: 13th Jul 2017 20:48
Good luck everyone, cant wait to see what you create!
Twitter - Teabone3 | Youtube - Teabone3 | Twitch - Teabone3 | TGC Assets - Store Link

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce GT 740
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 13th Jul 2017 22:22
I wanted to keep the competition open to non-artists, and attaching large quantities of entities to the structure would present an unfair advantage to those who can model large custom parts of the building and 'attach' it to the structure. I also wanted to see to what extent the Easy Building Editor could be used (on its own terms), and I am sure some creativity will be on display over the next 30 days. Best of luck to those who enter!
PC SPECS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit, Intel Core i7-5930K (PASSMARK:13645), NVIDIA Geforce GTX 980 GPU (PASSMARK:9762) , 32GB RAM

Earthling45
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2016
Location: Zuid Holland Nederland
Posted: 14th Jul 2017 00:41
Lee, a question,

If entities are made with EBE for use in and on the structure, is that allowed?
Belidos
3D Media Maker
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 14th Jul 2017 07:42
Quote: "- You must submit the screenshot in PNG format and include an FPM file that contains the structure
- Media used in the screenshot must be copyright free or owned by you (DLC, Store and custom media is fine)"


If we use media that is store, or custom, then how will you be able to few the FPM if you don't have the models? Or do you just want the bare EBE structure in the FPM and a pretty screenshot of the structure in nice surroundings?

Quote: "Finally, do not attach any entities directly to your structure. This is a test of your block building skills!"

Quote: "I know it says "Finally, do not attach any entities directly to your structure. This is a test of your block building skills!" but can we still add in windows and doors? This is what I have so far but it'll look kinda weird without windows or doors i guess i could do a texture like i did for the garage door but was just wondering. "

Quote: " wanted to keep the competition open to non-artists, and attaching large quantities of entities to the structure would present an unfair advantage to those who can model large custom parts of the building and 'attach' it to the structure."


On this note, are we allowed to attach the door/window/roof/railing entities that were released specifically for EBE and are free in our entitiybank scenery folder? You'll get much better quality structures if we can, and it's not giving modellers an advantage because anyone can use them.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
JonRobbo
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2017
Location: UK
Posted: 14th Jul 2017 10:07
Quote: "are we allowed to attach the door/window/roof/railing entities that were released specifically for EBE"


But where do you draw the line ? The steps,rails and roofs I mentioned that Bod made were made for specific use with ebe but they are not official gameguru products and if they are ok to use all the modellers could make models and say they are for specific ebe use, I think Lee is wanting ebe only structures which makes sense if they are going to be released as a pack of pre made structures.
Belidos
3D Media Maker
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 14th Jul 2017 12:43
Quote: "official gameguru products "


That's your line right there. If it's downloaded into your entitybank from installation of GameGuru or an official GameGuru update, base, not DLC.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
JonRobbo
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2017
Location: UK
Posted: 15th Jul 2017 10:48
Quote: "are we allowed to attach the door/window/roof/railing entities that were released specifically for EBE and are free in our entitiybank scenery folder? "


I haven't got any of these in my scenery folder.
Earthling45
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2016
Location: Zuid Holland Nederland
Posted: 15th Jul 2017 12:08
You'll find the items in the fixtures-map, doors/roofs/windows.

To answer my own question, 'entirely made with blocks in EBE'

For the new users, do look in the docs folder where a tutorial on EBE with some tricks is present.



JonRobbo
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2017
Location: UK
Posted: 15th Jul 2017 13:18
Thanks Earthling45, belidos confused me pointing to wrong folder.
Belidos
3D Media Maker
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 15th Jul 2017 14:44
Hmn just double checked, they're in my scenery folder not my fixtures folder.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
PCSKILLER
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Location: RSA
Posted: 15th Jul 2017 14:56 Edited at: 15th Jul 2017 17:06
Quote: "I wanted to keep the competition open to non-artists, and attaching large quantities of entities to the structure would present an unfair advantage to those who can model large custom parts of the building and 'attach' it to the structure. I also wanted to see to what extent the Easy Building Editor could be used (on its own terms),"

This sounds fair.

Quote: "The principal object being portrayed should be the Easy Building Editor structure itself
Use your own custom textures to give your structure a unique look
Place your structure in a complimentary setting (i.e. log cabin in a forest glade)
Use all the shader sliders available to create the perfect screenshot (i.e. bloom, shadows, vignette, lens flare)
Provide an FPM that contains the Easy Building Editor structure inside it (i.e. do not save as an entity)
The structure should be viewed from the outside, so no shots taken from the interior for this competition
Finally, do not attach any entities directly to your structure. This is a test of your block building skills!"


This do not sounds fair, especially the part were you can use your own textures, some users have unfair advantage with making textures than other users.
it would be fair if you use only the original ebe textures.


just to be cleared on this we are talking about only one ebe building site to be used , correct. ??
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 4GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
PM
GraPhiX
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Location: Old Trafford - Lancashire
Posted: 15th Jul 2017 20:23 Edited at: 15th Jul 2017 20:29
Quote: "This do not sounds fair, especially the part were you can use your own textures, some users have unfair advantage with making textures than other users.
it would be fair if you use only the original ebe textures."


you can use my textures m8 I have uploaded quite a few for the EBE/Terrain they are interchangeable, I uploaded them way before this competition was announced and Lee has stated you can use your own textures (think it might be wrong for me to upload custom textures now after the comp announce ment) but the ones I have already uploaded should be ok for you to use
https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/217786

you could even use my Variation Map Generator to create a unique terrain for your EBE
Welcome to the real world!
Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-2600K @3.40GHz - 32.0GB RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 4x500GB SSD Striped
MrEaKing(YT)
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2017
Location: Ontario
Posted: 16th Jul 2017 02:34 Edited at: 16th Jul 2017 02:42
Well this is what I am going to submit, let me know what you think. Still need to do some work on far side but this is the screenshot i'll be submitting.

Edit-- theres no HUD because i have a barrel behind me running the hidehuds.lua (pretty sure its stock otherwise just have HideHuds() at the main of a script and the only thing in the script lol.)
Youtube.com/MrEaKing

ELC - Explore, Learn and Create.

Desktop - HomeBuilt- Win 7 - AMD-FX 8300 Eight Core 3.30 Ghz
12 GB RAM
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PCSKILLER
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2016
Location: RSA
Posted: 16th Jul 2017 08:29
So does this mean i can use any free to use textures found on the internet to use with the ebe structure ?
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3260 @ 3.30GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.3GHz RAM 4GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
PM
GraPhiX
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Location: Old Trafford - Lancashire
Posted: 16th Jul 2017 08:41
Quote: "The principal object being portrayed should be the Easy Building Editor structure itself
Use your own custom textures to give your structure a unique look"


Lee said you can use your own custom textures, if they are free to use (public domain/royalty free) I don't see why not, if you want official confirmation email Lee and ask him
Welcome to the real world!
Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-2600K @3.40GHz - 32.0GB RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 4x500GB SSD Striped
Belidos
3D Media Maker
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 16th Jul 2017 17:24 Edited at: 16th Jul 2017 17:44
I am working on my own textures at the moment


Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
GraPhiX
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Location: Old Trafford - Lancashire
Posted: 16th Jul 2017 20:52
lol I have done pretty much the same for doors and windows, very nice Bellidos
Welcome to the real world!
Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-2600K @3.40GHz - 32.0GB RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 4x500GB SSD Striped
GraPhiX
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Location: Old Trafford - Lancashire
Posted: 25th Jul 2017 15:35
I have a little problem my FPM file is a little over 200MB LOL how the hell do I email that?
Welcome to the real world!
Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-2600K @3.40GHz - 32.0GB RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 4x500GB SSD Striped
MrEaKing(YT)
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2017
Location: Ontario
Posted: 25th Jul 2017 17:27
i shared mine through the cloud because neither hotmail nor gmail will allow more then 40mb emails
Youtube.com/MrEaKing https://www.facebook.com/EugeniusProductions/

ELC - Explore, Learn and Create.

Desktop - HomeBuilt- Win 7 - AMD-FX 8300 Eight Core 3.30 Ghz
12 GB RAM
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB
GraPhiX
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Location: Old Trafford - Lancashire
Posted: 25th Jul 2017 20:12
yeah think I will have to send a download link in the email
Welcome to the real world!
Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-2600K @3.40GHz - 32.0GB RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 4x500GB SSD Striped
Earthling45
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2016
Location: Zuid Holland Nederland
Posted: 28th Jul 2017 01:17
What??? no pictures yet?

I thought that by now my jaws would be hitting the floor when looking at what you all have made.
Earthling45
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2016
Location: Zuid Holland Nederland
Posted: 28th Jul 2017 01:24
Quote: "I am working on my own textures at the moment "


That really does look good, years ago i've lived in an appartment with old windows such as these, it really creates sphere.
certainly when sliding into the dark period of the year and a full moon shines its silver rays into the room.
=VX=Doggy
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Nov 2009
Location: USA NC
Posted: 29th Jul 2017 18:37
My first time using the Ebe . Used only default Ebe textures.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
GraPhiX
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Location: Old Trafford - Lancashire
Posted: 30th Jul 2017 09:28
Nice screenshot, reminds me a little of a budist temple
Welcome to the real world!
Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-2600K @3.40GHz - 32.0GB RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 4x500GB SSD Striped
Earthling45
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2016
Location: Zuid Holland Nederland
Posted: 31st Jul 2017 16:07
Quote: "Nice screenshot, reminds me a little of a budist temple "


With the wall and gate, the tabernacle.

Quote: "My first time using the Ebe . Used only default Ebe textures. "


Looks good =VX=
GraPhiX
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Location: Old Trafford - Lancashire
Posted: 1st Aug 2017 17:21
I have decided not to add windows or a roof because it is a build in progress (building site) it was never meant to be a finished building and besides that I like it so this is my entry
Welcome to the real world!
Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-2600K @3.40GHz - 32.0GB RAM - GeForce GTX 950 2GB - 4x500GB SSD Striped

Attachments

Login to view attachments
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 2nd Aug 2017 17:46
Some great previews so far Just to be clear, ANY entity (be that default or imported) that 'seems' to be attached to the structure would be disregarded as part of the judging. You can submit such screenshots, but I am going to judge on the skill of someone using cubes and custom textures to make something with WOW factor. You are free to use royalty free textures from the internet, but be careful to ensure they are not textures ripped from popular games and posted as 'free' as you will not be popular should you win
PC SPECS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit, Intel Core i7-5930K (PASSMARK:13645), NVIDIA Geforce GTX 980 GPU (PASSMARK:9762) , 32GB RAM

JillyJill
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jul 2017
Location:
Posted: 15th Aug 2017 05:13
I see some good works over here!
And here's my little creation - Watching Tower

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
BadGibbon
GameGuru TGC Backer
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Feb 2015
Location:
Posted: 17th Aug 2017 11:01 Edited at: 17th Aug 2017 11:06
Greetings
So I guess that's it, time has run out!
I't's been a challenge...
So for my sins, here's my humble entry:
MEXICAN PYRAMID

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 17th Aug 2017 11:44 Edited at: 24th Aug 2017 18:58
Quote: "MEXICAN PYRAMID"


You can be hunted down and killed for calling them that in some parts of south America :p

Incan, Mayan, or Aztec Ziggurat

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
BadGibbon
GameGuru TGC Backer
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Feb 2015
Location:
Posted: 17th Aug 2017 16:14
Belidos: my bad, yes it's a MAYAN TEMPLE built on a pyramid like structure!

BadGibbon
PM
Bolt Action Gaming
GameGuru TGC Backer
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2013
Location: Harrisburg, PA (USA)
Posted: 17th Aug 2017 20:34 Edited at: 17th Aug 2017 20:37
Wow, good looking stuff here. Stiff competition indeed!

Under construction luxury hotel:
MrEaKing(YT)
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2017
Location: Ontario
Posted: 18th Aug 2017 16:39
Is this really all the competition or have some of you not posted on the forums your completed builds? Mines up top (Jul 15) (Modern house).
Youtube.com/MrEaKing https://www.facebook.com/EugeniusProductions/

ELC - Explore, Learn and Create.

Desktop - HomeBuilt- Win 7 - AMD-FX 8300 Eight Core 3.30 Ghz
12 GB RAM
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB
Avenging Eagle
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 21st Aug 2017 20:14
Lee, you haven't downloaded the files I sent you according to WeTranfer. I sent you my screenshot, fpm, and single custom texture on the 16th. The download link will expire in 2 days so I need you to download it immediately. Sent it from my Hotmail account so it may have bounced into your spam folder?

Here is my screenshot, for those that are interested. I went a different direction for this, creating an optical illusion based on the work of M.C. Escher.


AE
GraPhiX
3D Media Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Location: Old Trafford - Lancashire
Posted: 24th Aug 2017 17:27
Congratulations to all three winners Excellent Scenes
Welcome to the real world!
Windows 10 Pro x64 - Core i7-7700K @4.2GHz - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GeForce GTX 1060-6G 6GB - 1TB NVe SSD
Avenging Eagle
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 24th Aug 2017 17:28
Yes, congratulations to all the winners; some wonderfully creative stuff going on there

AE
JillyJill
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jul 2017
Location:
Posted: 24th Aug 2017 17:43
Such nice news, thank you! All works are so various, it's great to see how much creativity can be expressed through easy builder.

Congratulations to the winners and thanks to The Game Creators for making this competition
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 24th Aug 2017 17:56
Congratulations to all ... Glad I didn't enter as I couldn't touch those
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
Belidos
3D Media Maker
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 24th Aug 2017 19:00
Well done guys, I especially like Gary's Ziggurat (it's not a pyramid! :p), unfortunately I wasn't able to submit my own, I got madly busy at work and didn't get time

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
synchromesh
Forum Support
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 24th Aug 2017 19:14
Quote: " (it's not a pyramid! :p)"


Looks like a Mayan Pyramid to me ?
https://www.ancientworldwonders.com/the-mysterious-mayan-pyramids.html
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..
Tarkus1971
Reviewed GameGuru on Steam
2
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 24th Feb 2015
Location: England, UK
Posted: 24th Aug 2017 19:24
congratulations to all the winners, lots of time and hard work has gone into these EBE creations.
Aftershock Quad Core AMD FM2+ 3.5 GHz 8GB Motherboard and Processor, A7700k apu, Asus GT970 STRIX 4gb Nvidia gfx card.
King Korg Synth, Alesis SR18 Drum Machine, Akai MPX8 sample player, Roland Fantom XA Synth, Axus Digital AXK2 Digital Drum Kit, Novation Ultranova Synth, Waldorf Blofeld Synth.
Belidos
3D Media Maker
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Location: Hertfordshire
Posted: 24th Aug 2017 19:51 Edited at: 24th Aug 2017 19:55
Quote: "Looks like a Mayan Pyramid to me ?
https://www.ancientworldwonders.com/the-mysterious-mayan-pyramids.html"


They are often referred to as pyramids, but they're not actually pyramids, they're Ziggurats, the difference being that they are stepped and not smooth sloped, another difference being they're usually used as temples whereas pyramids are generally used as burial structures. It's a common miss-reference that even experts make, not because they don't know, but more because it's easier for people reading their descriptions to understand. Although Ziggurat is usually more commonly used for Iranians and Mesopotamian structures. It's amazing how many cultures had similar ideas for large structures which are so different to how we make structures now.

Primary Desktop:
i7 7700,k NV1070 8GB, 16GB 3200mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Secondary Desktop:
i5 4760k, NV960 2GB, 16GB 2333mhz memory, 1x 2TB Hybrid, Win10.

Laptop:
i3, Intel 4000 series graphics, 6GB memory, 1x 500gb HDD, Win8.1.
synchromesh
Forum Support
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 24th Aug 2017 20:39 Edited at: 24th Aug 2017 20:40
I always just refer to them as a pyramid shape ... The very first Egyptian pyramid or the oldest in Egypt was the step Pyramid ( in reality a Ziggurats I guess ) Again not really a Pyramid at all .. Also a not so known fact is that no mummies have ever been found in Pyramids ... The whole thing is really just theory and could also have just been used for worship of their dead king before being put in their actual Tomb ?

Gotta be careful here its a really captivating conversation but slightly off topic
I may be deleting my own posts
The only person ever to get all his work done by "Friday" was Robinson Crusoe..

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2017-11-17 19:27:43
Your offset time is: 2017-11-17 19:27:43