Product Chat / Substantial questions about sound-design & music methods of implementation in GG!

Author
GameGuru TGC Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Jun 2017 22:36 Edited at: 7th Jun 2017 23:03
hello everyone! /.-)

ok, I am going to implement a few sound-designs and music tracks into one of my experimental projects tonight. but before I can do this, I am hammering out a few stupid questions for the GAME GURU GURUS ...
U know, I am a more of a manual-guy and find time-consuming video-tutorials quite enervating. one of the annoying things with video-tuts is the fact that there are no chapters, no search-possibilities and no indexes and whatsoever. the more Twitch-videos appear, making the hours of potential videowatch longer and longer, the more it makes me wish for a real manual. I am a quick reader, really.

please note that I am a professional sound-designer and very experienced electronic producer. THAT part is easy for me and I am willing to help out in that regards if anyone needs some hints on technical issues in exchange for helping me out here on my boring noob-questions...

WHAT I WANT TO DO:

MUSIC:
basically I want to have a main background music covering the basic atmosphere & mood of the level. this music should get "busy" and energetic as soon as the player is engaged in battle or anything action-driven. I already know that I need two exact long music pieces that can easily blend into one another to "crossfade" the particular moods...

SOUND:
additionally I want to have different "sound zones" where I am planning to mix loops (winds, distant noises etc.) with different lengths in order to get never-ending immersive soundscapes to simulate an alien world / deserted alien planet... in an easy example we have one zone with 2 loops with different lengths running forever. let's say: one is high pitched desert wind (probably panning erratically) and the other one is a dark low-pitched wind tone with subtle modulations...