Scripts / anyway to only show a prompt once? [question]

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
So, i'm just now starting to dabble with LUA. i watched one of the broadcasts where they showed altering the doorauto.lua script to open only when your flashlight is turned on. so i tried some expansions on that a little bit. i thought "how could i make it hint towards the player they need to turn on their flashlight. so i added a line

if if g_Entity[e]['plrvisible'] == 1 and g_PlayerFlashlight == 0 then
Prompt("it's too dark to see the locks")

(sorry i don't know how to use the snippits option) of course as i'm new to programming, and brand new to LUA i made some bumps and mistakes. but i figured everything out and properly made the message display AND have the doors open when you do turn the flashlight on. My question though, is there anyway to only have that prompt message displayed until the player successfully opens the door for the first time?
http://www.shrinkpictures.com/processed/phprZ6E7O_c2AM.jpg

\"I AM YOUR GOD OF DEATH\"
PM
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Feb 2017 07:27
Yes.

Make the prompt conditional with a flag and set the flag flag when the door is opened. For example:

Been there, done that, got all the T-Shirts!
PM
scythe_reaver
Years of Service
User Offline
Ok thanks for the advice. i'm still learning how to create/utilize flags like that. so that'll be really helpful, thanks AmenMoses

PM
AmenMoses
GameGuru Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Feb 2017 11:21
Boolean checks are more efficient than the '== 1' you see in most of the stock scripts because all numerical values in Lua are 64 bit floats, as GG is still compiled 32 bit this is going to be a lot slower than if you use true and false. The downside is you can't use booleans directly in a Prompt for debugging, instead you have to do something like:

if <boolean> then Prompt("<boolean>=true") else Prompt("<boolean>=false") end