Years of Service
User Offline
Playing:
Posted: 5th Dec 2016 14:18 Edited at: 14th Dec 2016 13:18
Author
Ian StJohn

Link to website for the demo: http://www.deliverusfromevil.co.uk

Preface

After 5 months working on this, my first game, I now feel comfortable in releasing this two level demo which I'm hoping will raise the bar when it comes to showing what can be done with GameGuru if you put your mind to it. The only thing I am guilty of in this piece of work is that I have used the game assets for the entities but all the coding and music is my own.
This game is something I am very proud of and the gameplay is very different so I urge you to download the demo yourself as I think you will be quite astounded with what I have done here considering I have no coding experience! (note: intro video is only a mock up, there are a few aesthetic bugs and this is made with version 1.2)

Please feel free to offer any advice or constructive criticism and I would appreciate feedback on how this runs on your rig as I have adopted a 1 level at a time loading system to reduce draw calls.

Concept
Take a horror game, combine it with a game of strategy, flavour it with a  sprinkling of 3D PacMan and then glaze and cook for 5 months and what do you get?
The game ‘Deliver us from evil’, D.U.F.E, a title  so mixed up that its difficult to pigeon hole its genre. Putting a twist on the modern 3D horror genre mixed with a retro 2D gameplay how will you play?

The Story
Earth has been all but destroyed and humanity are on the brink of extinction. The Retentive came in 2018 and it was clear from the outset that they didn’t come in peace. Their aim was to harvest all human life-force to  fuel their desire to become fully sentient. These semi-sentient beings were not of organic form but of non-biological matter and their true form has never been seen. They often appear in spacesuits and it is thought that this image was taken from their initial contact with our space exploration projects.