Product Chat / Possible lighting solution ?

Author
Game Guru Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
I found this while looking at various lighting methods and wondered if it would work for light/shadow issues in GG. I am not a coder so I have no clue about such things or if GG is using something similar or not or if it even CAN use something like this. But the theory looks good to me and I was just curious.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=10&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwi9ipfgsKfMAhWHeSYKHbBoD_gQFghNMAk&url=http%3A%2F%2Fima.udg.es%2Fiiia%2FGGG%2FUsersDocs%2Fmateu%2Fobscurances.pdf&usg=AFQjCNEOMarENTBnYltzX3A94bMIArYVPw

Wolf
Forum Support
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Apr 2016 01:11
Yes. See links:

LINK I

LINK II

-Wolf

"When I contradict myself, I am telling the truth"
"absurdity has become necessity"
Spotaru
Game Guru Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Quote: "Yes. See links:"

REALLY ?
Are you serious?
Did you even bother to read the posts you pointed this to? I am part of the how to make better thread and I really don't see how you think DX 9 to DX 11 comparision has anything whatsoever to do with the lighting issues that are in GG RIGHT NOW!! The lights in GG are horrible and no DX 11 or PBR is going to fix that.
I also don't recall saying anything about new bells or whistles, or DX 11 or PBR. I was asking if the process used in the pdf could be adapted/modified to help GG in the "Realistic Light" area. But don't worry I will not be making anymore suggestions or asking anymore questions. That's it! I am done with GG. I have been with tgc since BEFORE fpsc classic let alone reloaded and GG.(original Darkbasic) I have always tried my best to be helpful on those forums and here on this one. But here and now on these forums if you are not one of the so called professionals or you are giving everything away, you are either ignored or treated like you're an idiot. So i'm finished.