Virtual Reality / You can still play in VR

Author
Message
SpaceWurm
Game Guru Backer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2011
Playing:
Posted: 25th Dec 2015 14:22 Edited at: 6th Jul 2019 21:44
Hey all, thought this would be a pretty cool little guide for all the VR enthusiasts out there. You can achieve VR with the Oculus Rift or HTC Vive.

1. You need a decent Android phone. Minimum screen size of 5 inches (no bigger than 6 inches for the headset listed below) with a minimum resolution of 1280x720.

2. Get a decent VR headset, you need to make sure it's comfortable. I've got a few headsets that dig into the bridge of your nose and it's really not comfortable after 10 minutes of use. I have something very similar to this: http://www.amazon.com/VR-Glasses-Head-mounted-Headband-Smartphones/dp/B015SLWJ0E/ref=pd_sim_sbs_504_3?ie=UTF8&dpID=41R2h0bzdpL&dpSrc=sims&preST=_AC_UL160_SR160%2C160_&refRID=02T7W6N6SPJ8P79MXAMG

3. There's an app called TrinusVR:

Quote: "Trinus VR (previously known as Trinus Gyre) was created to provide PC gamers with a high-end virtual reality headset without needing to buy expensive hardware, because you already have the hardware in your pocket. Trinus VR uses the display and sensors of your own phone to transform it into a portal to your PC games. Don’t wait till 2016, live your PC games in virtual reality today."


Download TrinusVR (Costs $5) on the Playstore to your Android device. Then download the Desktop app for PC. Trinus is the only app that I have come across that uses USB tethering to "stream" the games to your phone with low latency. Using WIFI with TrinusVR has a high latency. It uses the phone's Gyro sensor to mimic mouse movement and it does that job pretty damn well.

If everything runs smoothly, you could actually have a better experience than the DK2 regarding image quality. I had an Oculus DK2 and this method is in some cases far better than what the DK2 could do.

4. Start up Trinus VR server and set it up according to the device/headset you have. This can be a little tedious but once you have it setup you're good to go.

5. With everything setup, start your GameGuru game... My first recommendation is to try out the game called Steve.

If you have any questions, I'd like to help out as much as I can

Landman
unfamillia
Forum Support
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2010
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Posted: 6th Jul 2016 17:58
Why have I missed all of these incredible threads! Where have I been?!

I am definitely trying this later!

Might even try Steve! Who knows! haha.




Jerry Tremble
GameGuru TGC Backer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2012
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posted: 7th Jul 2016 01:37
Quote: "Where have I been?! "



Where HAVE you been?
MAME Cab PC: i7 4770@3.4Ghz (passmark 9945), 12GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX645 (passmark 1898); Shiny new laptop: i7 4800MQ@2.7Ghz (passmark 8586), 16GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX870M (passmark 3598); Old laptop: i5@2.3Ghz, 8GB RAM, Win 7/64, Intel 3000 graphics
PM
unfamillia
Forum Support
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2010
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Posted: 7th Jul 2016 13:46
Not sure really.......I don't remember much....

I am going to try the VR setup later tonight.

What headset and phone do you use for this? I have an S6 and Gear VR. Having Gear VR means I will need to download something to stop the Gear VR from starting automatically, but, apparently, it should be ok.

Cheers

Jay.




unfamillia
Forum Support
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2010
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Posted: 8th Jul 2016 20:36
@Jerry Tremble,

How did you get it working properly? I can get it to appear, but, because it's full screen, it's too close.

I really need it to be in windowed mode.




Jerry Tremble
GameGuru TGC Backer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2012
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posted: 9th Jul 2016 04:55
Quote: "@Jerry Tremble,

How did you get it working properly? I can get it to appear, but, because it's full screen, it's too close.

I really need it to be in windowed mode."


I don't use Trinus VR, I only piped in on this thread because I saw your post, and hadn't seen you around the forums for quite some time, lol. It's Landman that has used this! I have Oculus DK1 and just recently got my Oculus CV1. My DK1 works on my laptop with UE4 (4.8) and an older OR runtime, and the CV1 works on my desktop (MAME cabinet) with UE4 (also 4.8), even with my current card (specs in my sig). Games that support VR also work pretty well on this old card (GTX 1080 arrives Monday, and I have Tuesday off! Yippy!) What doesn't work well are the video productions that are created for VR. If you've followed Oculus at all, they recommend a GTX 970 or something around those numbers, or better. That really depends on what you are doing with it, so I think they are just covering bases there. My old card runs 2 monitors plus the rift with no lag in games that support it (okay, maybe a little!), but overall, at least in UE4 , it's pretty smooth!
MAME Cab PC: i7 4770@3.4Ghz (passmark 9945), 12GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX645 (passmark 1898); Shiny new laptop: i7 4800MQ@2.7Ghz (passmark 8586), 16GB RAM, Win 10/64, GeForce GTX870M (passmark 3598); Old laptop: i5@2.3Ghz, 8GB RAM, Win 7/64, Intel 3000 graphics
PM
SpaceWurm
Game Guru Backer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2011
Playing:
Posted: 27th Jul 2016 19:19 Edited at: 6th Jul 2019 21:45
There's a program called DxWind which will allow you to run games in Windowed mode. Download it here. https://sourceforge.net/projects/dxwnd/

I know it's pain and a bit of a work around but it works for me.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-06-05 03:45:34
Your offset time is: 2023-06-05 03:45:34