Feature Creep / Multi Textures

Author
3D Media Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Sep 2015 11:14 Edited at: 21st Sep 2015 22:11
I am aware that GameGuru is undergoing a massive rewrite at the moment but can I please ask that the new version supports proper multi texturing. I know we can multi texture X files now in GameGuru but they don't hold in lightmapping and to be honest an unlightmapped scene is never going to impress. From personal experience I am aware that prior to lightmapping some models are rendered with distorted textures on them.

So please make sure the new version has the ability to accept multi textures in all lightmapping levels. thanks.

PS sorry if in wrong thread but as an artist I felt it sort of belonged in this one

[ MOD EDIT ] Moved to Feature Creep
Scene Commander
Support Manager
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Sep 2015 17:27 Edited at: 28th Sep 2015 17:39
We aren't big fans of multitexture models. While it's easier for the artist, it's not a great thing for the engine. Every texture requires rendering, so a model with 10 textures rather than a single one will take 10 times longer to render.

There is a school of though internally that we could solve this by creating a single UV map from the textures, but that's someway off.

SC
i7-4770s 3.10ghz - Geforce GTX 650ti
wizard of id
3D Media Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: CSGO
Posted: 1st Oct 2015 06:38
Well I am going to chip in here.

There is only so much you can do with a texture atlas, to say the least I feel it is causing me more frustration than any thing else.GG doesn't support, creating primitives, and it will never support it as the moment it does, users will be less reliant on the store and content that TGC provides, this causes to what seems to me an ethical issue on part of TGC.Money vs functional software for a much broader audience.