Feature Creep / Rough Terrain Tool (a tool that is the opposite of blend tool)

Author
Message
Duncan Peck
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Apr 2014
Location:
Posted: 6th Mar 2015 08:26
There should be a tool to make the terrain rough like in the randomly generated maps. Rarely in life do you go for a walk and admire how flat everything is!
PM
Duncan Peck
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Apr 2014
Location:
Posted: 27th Apr 2015 10:53
I would actually be willing to donate some money to see this feature because I see it being so useful when making maps... how much money do you want me to donate for you to work on this idea?

I try generating random maps and then using the lower terrain tool to create a valley so the path is slightly rough, the only problem is that there are often steep slopes when I just want a generally rough terrain. Using the lower/heighten terrain tool then seems to make these blobby hills/dips and I can't get it looking quite right. Simply put a tool which adds a little noise to the terrain and makes bits go up and down seems essential. Here's another scenario. I build my map on flat ground, get the building placements and everything just how I like them, it would be nice to be able to roughen the terrain up around them to make the area look more natural. The terrain height brush simply makes things too blobby - there isn't enough randomness to create hills that look like the randomly generated maps. As I said I'd donate for this feature, how much do you want? I love GameGuru. but I'd love it more with this feature.
PM
smallg
Community Leader
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 27th Apr 2015 17:15
Quote: "There should be a tool to make the terrain rough like in the randomly generated maps."


+1
the hills in the random map are still a lot better than the ones we can make, i hope we will get the tool(s) to make those easily in future
life\'s one big game

windows vista ultimate

i5 @3.3ghz, 4gb ram, geforce gtx460, directx 11
perelect
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posted: 29th Apr 2015 16:12
Yes, I believe this is a great idea and I would like to see it added.

It was on my wish list as well.
I may be old, but at least my memory still ....hmmm

Pavilion dv6 Notebook, Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30 GHz, Win 7 64 bit, 16 GB Ram, Radeon (TM) HD 6490M, 2789 MB Memory. Resolution 1366x768, Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000. (WEI 5.8)
Duncan Peck
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Apr 2014
Location:
Posted: 30th Apr 2015 05:46
I thought I'd seen this idea before it's here:

https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/210429

Sorry I made a duplicated thread/topic. But it shows there is more support out there for this idea. Please people post if you feel strongly about a terrain roughen tool. I think it would be wonderful. Thank you.
PM
Inea
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2015
Location:
Posted: 30th Apr 2015 12:23
Great suggestion.

Plus what I would like to see too is the ability to set strength to the terrain tool.
PM
Sheogorath
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd May 2015
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2015 17:13
+1
also adjustable brush sizes
PM
Teabone
Forum Support
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Earth
Posted: 28th May 2015 02:07
It be nice to have this option as I've used something similar in the Unreal Engines. Though it does increase poly count it can be useful if put together correctly in a poly safe way.
i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce 420 GT

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-05-18 15:24:47
Your offset time is: 2021-05-18 15:24:47