Scripts / Changing player variable at runtime

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Jun 2014 21:09
Hi!

I want to change a player variable at runtime via a script. How can I do that?
I should be able to access, and change any entities variable that can be seen in it's properties table in the same manner.

I mean in a language like C/C++ or similar I can access object variables by typing: object.itsVar;
but how to do this in LUA and FPSCR?

www.memblockgames.com
almightyhood
Years of Service
User Offline
Lua is not fully installed lots of functions not possible yet, also a lot of the things are still hard coded to the engine, like enemy weapons and such, not sure its possible but then im not a coder so maybe what your after is, what variable was you trying to change? maybe your in luck and some1 can see about it?!.

evga GeForce gtx 750 ti boost2.0 2gb gddr5. win 8.1 quad core 4gb ram.
PM
mnemonic
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Jun 2014 21:25
After you've placed out your player (the green arrow) (or any other entity) you can right click them and change things like health, speed etc. In this particual case I wanted to change the players gravity if a certain condition is meet during gameplay. It should work, but as you say, it might be hardcoded into the engine. But a feature like that would really increase our flexibility to make our games. I really hope this can be done somehow. If not, I surely would love to have it implemented!

www.memblockgames.com
almightyhood
Years of Service
User Offline
yeah i think those are mostly still hard coded to the engine, would be nice to have the gravity change option for if you want to say handglide off a mountain to escape or something like that your right.

evga GeForce gtx 750 ti boost2.0 2gb gddr5. win 8.1 quad core 4gb ram.
PM
mnemonic
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Jun 2014 21:39