Scripts / Best way to learn scripting...?

Author
Message
Atlantis
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2010
Location: Wasteland
Posted: 8th Dec 2013 01:29
What is the best way to learn scripting? Where can you purchase a compiler for FPS Creator Reloaded so your scripts work?
PM
Emrys
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2013
Location: UK
Posted: 8th Dec 2013 11:16 Edited at: 8th Dec 2013 11:19
We don't know which way FPSCR is going go at the moment, it may stay FPI or it may change to LUA.



There is lots of help on the net for both, have a look them to get an idea how the code works, then you can focus on which ever one the TGC team decide to go with.
PM
Tomahawk
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posted: 21st Dec 2013 15:12
I would use "FPI edit pad" it is the way i learned. Just fool around with it and you will get the hang of it, i learn by trial and error so if you learn like that i would use this.

DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 28th Dec 2013 04:07
Well, nothing is concrete, but I am guessing TGC will go the Lua route. I will be fairly depressed if they go back to FPI, I don't think it will cut the mustard. We need to move with the times and just accept the fact Lua is a way better alternative to FPI scripting. We need speed, and if Lua is going to help, then all power to using it. For me it looks better than FPI as I always thought that was a terrible system in the first place, and limited the original FPSC quite badly.

Too early to say, but reading up a little on Lua will probably be a good head start.

Emrys
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2013
Location: UK
Posted: 28th Dec 2013 19:52
I would also like to see Lua added, it's easy to use but very powerful !



PM
Atlantis
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2010
Location: Wasteland
Posted: 3rd Jan 2014 03:10
According to the December newslettre...



"When will you announce the scripting support (FPI/LUA)?"



Lee: It is almost certain that we will now be supporting LUA for the scripting, though its implementation will still be some time as we focus on performance and system stability and compatibility. It is a core feature however, and will be a high priority for us once the foundations of the main graphics engine are in place.
PM
Teabone
Forum Support
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2006
Location: Earth
Posted: 3rd Jan 2014 13:50 Edited at: 3rd Jan 2014 14:11
I'd be okay with LUA as long as we get a couple of base script templates to work from. I actually found that quite helpful with FPSC when we had a bunch of FPI scripts to start with, for switches, doors, keys, enemies, pickups, quest items, waypoint following etc.

HarryWever
3D Media Maker
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2010
Location: below Sea level
Posted: 14th Jan 2014 23:36
I just read Lee's blog, and Lua it is..

I am not a coder and i really don't understand anything about scripting.

Never learned it. tryed it many times, but the best i get was "Hello world"

I hope it is something to learn for me.

Gr
PM
AuShadow
GameGuru TGC Backer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Dec 2013
Location: Australia
Posted: 16th Jan 2014 06:42
If you check lees blog it actually has an example script in there that you can look at to see roughly how the scripting is going to be, with a few base scripts to start with should be easy to play with and learn
spudnick
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location:
Posted: 17th Jan 2014 01:48 Edited at: 17th Jan 2014 01:58
hi all i found this site very handy and offers you the scripting package for lua



im trying to have a go at learning it and the help within the program is very good,



anyways have a looksy

Its called



SciTE

i downloaded and istalled the windows istall from here

http://code.google.com/p/luaforwindows/



more info can be found on these links



http://www.scintilla.org

Lua scripting language by TeCGraf, PUC-Rio

http://www.lua.org
PM
Jerry Tremble
GameGuru TGC Backer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2012
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posted: 17th Jan 2014 02:29
Thanks, spudnick! Just downloaded it.
PM
Jerry Tremble
GameGuru TGC Backer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2012
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posted: 17th Jan 2014 02:37
...and I'm really enjoying the examples! Seems very simple, yet very different from what I'm used to, especially types/variables.
PM
Tingalls
GameGuru TGC Backer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2013
Location: Great Northwest, USA
Posted: 18th Jan 2014 16:03
I got all the 'Zones' to play sounds but we need a PlayVideo(e) command for the storyZone. Had to change the 'main' script from storyinzone.lua and soundinzone.lua to plrinzone.lua to get the sound to work.



I really like the Lua scripting. It will be nice to create detailed AI.

Experiencing a cool Game --> Tingalls
almightyhood
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Oct 2013
Location:
Posted: 19th Jan 2014 03:29 Edited at: 19th Jan 2014 07:17
ok so I was trying to get sounds to work, and couldn't.. now I know why but where to fix this please?, what steps do I take exactly??.









edit, I figured it out lol. but is there away to loop the sound for a nonstop effect for say wind or ambience music though? a mod script or?

have fun stay safe

hood
PM
BioDragonlord
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Dec 2013
Location: Australia
Posted: 19th Jan 2014 12:17
I would be thinking thru a script copy the one that you

are using and modify it and set it up as the one that

you are using for the sound,



setup up a basic loop

ie 1 = "sounds"

2 goto 1

Bring It On

almightyhood
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Oct 2013
Location:
Posted: 19th Jan 2014 14:20
that might help some1 in the know lol... but I have no idea what how or where to do that lol thanks though,



I was researching sound loop scripts but found only info for repeating I over and over again lol,



maybe I need the appear_main

followed by a wait in seconds

followed by a repeat appear_main?



but no clue what to do or how to do it lol just guessing from other scripts I looked at

have fun stay safe

hood
PM
BioDragonlord
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Dec 2013
Location: Australia
Posted: 19th Jan 2014 14:28
yeah unfortunately I am a bit blind in that area as well

Bring It On

B1trider
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2013
Location:
Posted: 26th Jan 2014 09:23
I find the best way to learn any scripting is by reading example code then changing the instructions and values around in the code to see the differant results but thats's just one way.. always make sure your syntax is correct as well
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-14 20:38:18
Your offset time is: 2024-04-14 20:38:18