3rd Party Models/Media Chat / Custom Model Problem

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
When importing custom models into my game, the physical location seems to be out of alignment with the textural location. In other words, I can walk through walls of my buildings, and I'm bumping into walls where I don't see any. does anyone know why this is happening?
PM
BasCelik
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Nov 2013 06:27
I'm no expert but I believe your collision map is not exporting properly. What format are you exporting in? I am not familiar with importing assets into FPSCR but I know from UDK that, that was something we ran into when importing the collision map from blender as an .fbx file. I'm sure this didn't help but may give you something to look into.
HarryWever
3D Media Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Nov 2013 10:44
Hello,

I had have a similair problem.

In my case it had to do with scaling and the wrong export settings from the plugin.

Now i export my model to a obj. file bring it in milkshape. texture it and expport it in milkshape to a directx file. that works for 99 procent of my models.

There are still some models with that same problem, but the most are correct now.

Hope that helped a little bit for you.

Gr

Harry
PM
BasCelik
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Nov 2013 16:53
Harry is probably correct on this being that FPSC:R uses only the .x format at this time. It definitely seems to be an export issue.
Dosedmonkey
Years of Service
User Offline
Anyone got experiences of exporting from fragmotion? My collision seems to be just one big box, around the outer extremities of the model, not on the edges of each section, so your not able to enter the models area at all.
PM
Kilgore
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Dec 2013 15:34