Scripts / request slenderman type script

Author
Message
Slaur3n
GameGuru TGC Backer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Sep 2008
Location: Norway
Posted: 23rd Jul 2015 10:06
Heyy!
Possible to have a slenderman type of enemy? Like he will appear when you step in trigger zones and he will chase you? If you step outside the zone he will disappear?

Or a better suggestion?
Visit our FB site and like
https://www.facebook.com/crowhillstudiosofficial
Corno_1
GameGuru Tool Maker
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2010
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jul 2015 12:35
could be easily archiveable

Comands you need:
MoveForward(e,speed)
RotateToPlayer(e)
....

Try it and come back if you have something
My dream is to develope games, which makes fun when I create it and fun when other people play it.
PM
Slaur3n
GameGuru TGC Backer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Sep 2008
Location: Norway
Posted: 23rd Jul 2015 12:58
nice, but im pretty dumb when it comes to scripting. Could you explain little more?
Visit our FB site and like
https://www.facebook.com/crowhillstudiosofficial
Corno_1
GameGuru Tool Maker
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2010
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jul 2015 13:32
You not even tested it hmmmm. I do not have the time for any requests at the moment.
But a small help:
My dream is to develope games, which makes fun when I create it and fun when other people play it.
PM
Slaur3n
GameGuru TGC Backer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Sep 2008
Location: Norway
Posted: 23rd Jul 2015 16:01
no, because i did not know what do to:S

But im gonna try the code, thanks
Visit our FB site and like
https://www.facebook.com/crowhillstudiosofficial
Corno_1
GameGuru Tool Maker
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2010
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jul 2015 17:58
If you not managed to do it. PM me in two weeks. Then I have enough time for this
My dream is to develope games, which makes fun when I create it and fun when other people play it.
PM
smallg
Community Leader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 24th Jul 2015 21:48 Edited at: 24th Jul 2015 21:55
3 scripts

1. set slenderman_trigger.lua for the trigger zone to spawn him
1.a name it appropriately. e.g. slenderman1
2. set slenderman.lua for the character to use as slenderman (note he needs to be a character and optionally have csi animations for movement - if you dont know how to do this then basically set the csi_unarmedmoverun = #,# to the frames of your guy running - if he does actually run, if he floats then it probably already looks fine)
2.a name it the same as the first guy. e.g. slenderman1
3. place a trigger to act as the exit/safe point (only 1 can be set per slenderman so you'll have to add points and move them around if you want multiple exits, hard to explain but see the picture - this is because you can simply step back 1 step to despawn him if you used the same trigger as the first 1)
and give it slenderman_exit.lua
3.a name it the same as the first 2 parts but add "exit" to the end e.g. slenderman1 exit

repeat (all 3 steps) with unique names for all locations he will spawn at, allowing you to give him more hp, different model etc
life\'s one big game

windows vista ultimate

i5 @3.3ghz, 4gb ram, geforce gtx460, directx 11

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Slaur3n
GameGuru TGC Backer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Sep 2008
Location: Norway
Posted: 24th Jul 2015 22:39 Edited at: 24th Jul 2015 22:41
thanks so much, smallg. Brilliant Works like a charm!
Visit our FB site and like
https://www.facebook.com/crowhillstudiosofficial
Timba
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2015
Location: Florida
Posted: 6th Aug 2015 16:49
This is awesome.

smallg is it possible to make him faster as you pick up items?

Like for example. increase his speed by 12% each time you pick up a specific item (like a note).
ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO | Intel Core i7 4790k | 16 GB RAM | EVGA GTX 980 SC | 120GB SSD(OS) | 512GB SSD(Programs) | 1TB WD Black(Backups) | EVGA SuperNova 1000W G1
smallg
Community Leader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 6th Aug 2015 18:36
yes, add something like

ModulateSpeed(e,1+speed)

in the main part of the slenderman script

and then add
speed = speed + (speed * 0.25)
when the note is picked up (inside the already read part so it's only triggered once)

dont forget to add a global variable called speed at the top of one of your scripts like
speed = 0
life\'s one big game

windows vista ultimate

i5 @3.3ghz, 4gb ram, geforce gtx460, directx 11
Timba
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2015
Location: Florida
Posted: 7th Aug 2015 15:52
sweet!
ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO | Intel Core i7 4790k | 16 GB RAM | EVGA GTX 980 SC | 120GB SSD(OS) | 512GB SSD(Programs) | 1TB WD Black(Backups) | EVGA SuperNova 1000W G1
Inea
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2015
Location:
Posted: 11th Aug 2015 15:05
I was really excited to see these scripts and I tried them out, but I can't get it to work :-(

I've got:

My starter player

A character named Slenderman ( and/or Slenderman1) I've tried a few different characters. Last one is Masked Soldier (Defender), named him Slenderman with the Slenderman.lua script. Does not spawn at start.

A trigger zone named Slenderman, with the Slenderman_trigger script. And if used Slenderman.

And an exit zone with the exit script.

When I run the game in testmode I get the message when the game starts:

"No slenderman for Slenderman trigger"

Am I supposed to write something in the scripts? Have I missed something?

Thanks for any help!
PM
smallg
Community Leader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 11th Aug 2015 16:01
dont set him to spawn at start = no (just leave him normal)
life\'s one big game

windows vista ultimate

i5 @3.3ghz, 4gb ram, geforce gtx460, directx 11
Inea
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2015
Location:
Posted: 11th Aug 2015 16:29
Thanks smallg for the quick reply, but I still can't get it to work.

I tried a few different things, but still no luck. I'll write about what changes I made etc, later
PM
Inea
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2015
Location:
Posted: 11th Aug 2015 18:49
When I first changed Slenderman to spawn at start= yes, the message was: no exit for trigger slenderman.

In the exit trigger I have
name: Slenderman Exit
Slenderman exit script
if used: Slenderman (have tried nothing and Slenderman Exit)

No slenderman is showing.

I must be missing something :-(

PM
smallg
Community Leader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 11th Aug 2015 18:58
make sure the names are spelt exactly the same, no extra spaces or capital letters etc.
you dont need to put anything in the ifused field either (but that shouldn't cause any issues)

just do a quick test like this;
open a blank map and
place the slenderman, name him
Quote: "1"

and give him the slenderman script
place a trigger zone and name it
Quote: "1"

give it the slenderman_trigger script
place another trigger and name it
Quote: "1 exit"

give it slenderman_exit script
life\'s one big game

windows vista ultimate

i5 @3.3ghz, 4gb ram, geforce gtx460, directx 11
Inea
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2015
Location:
Posted: 11th Aug 2015 19:52
aha... no capitals..... mhm.... testing....

made a new level like the one you described above and it worked!! My other level got corrupted, so can't test that one again.

Thank you so much for the help smallg!!
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-02 00:12:48
Your offset time is: 2024-05-02 00:12:48