Scripts / Mutliple Ifused Fields

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am still a novice Lua scripter but it has occurred to me that it would very useful if each entity had several Ifused fields in its properties panel instead of just one. So, Ifused1, Ifused2, Ifused3, etc.

This would allow us to use ActiveIfUsed1(e), ActiveIfUsed2(e), ActiveIfUsed3(e), etc. in our scripts.

Currently, I often find myself having to use 3-4 different Lua scripts to create just one effect or event and it normally involves identifying and using the (e) of one or more different entities, which isn't ideal.

Multiple Ifused fields would, I think, lead to cleaner, less convoluted and more powerful scripting capabilitiesz.

Perhaps Lee could sneak this is along with the much anticipated LoadSound command as it is along similar lines....?
Julian
PM
Pirate Myke
Forum Support
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th May 2016 16:14 Edited at: 16th May 2016 16:16
There is a SetActivated statement that is in the global.lua script that does such this thing.

function SetActivated(e,v)
g_Entity[e]['activated'] = v
SendMessageI("setactivated",e,v);
end

The way I am thinking about this command is that you would set up variables for the ifused objects you wanted and then the SetActivated to switch them out for you.

Having a way for the player to activate these either by triggerzone or object range might just do it.

You would need to take this to the script board with the idea, and I am sure one of the Guru's there can point you in the right direction.

Looking in the global.lua file again I spotted the Direct Call LUA commands at the bottom.

SetEntityActive: SetEntityActive ( e, active flag ) -- Sets the entity data directly, e is entity index
SetEntityActivated: SetEntityActivated ( e, activated flag ) -- Sets the entity data directly, e is entity index
SetEntityCollected: SetEntityCollected ( e, collected flag ) -- Sets the entity data directly, e is entity index