Scripts / Script not working sometimes

Author
GameGuru TGC Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Mar 2016 15:34
Hello everyone. I have a script that starts a dart trap but sometimes it is not hurting the player even though he is within the hurt zone. Could anyone give me any ideas.

My Script:

HP Pavilion Laptop, AMD A8-4555M APU with Radeon(tm) Graphics HD Graphics 1.6GHz, 8GB Memory, 64 Bit Operating System (Windows 10), 1 TB Hard Drive.

I've got something to say - It's better to burn out than fade away.
Nathan38
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Mar 2016 20:11 Edited at: 1st Mar 2016 20:29
Documentation says this:

HurtPlayer(e,v)
Cause V damage to player

so I guess you'd use HurtPlayer(e,5), I'm not an expert in scripting though.

Also I dont think' defining "damage" as a variable is necessary, you could use g_PlayerHealth, since it is a global
TazMan
GameGuru TGC Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Mar 2016 10:31
Thanks Nathan38, I know this is not a problem since I have already tried hard coding the amount of health to take off and I still get the same problem, the script still does not work sometimes.
HP Pavilion Laptop, AMD A8-4555M APU with Radeon(tm) Graphics HD Graphics 1.6GHz, 8GB Memory, 64 Bit Operating System (Windows 10), 1 TB Hard Drive.

Corno_1
GameGuru Tool Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Ok, why you do a array with the damage? A local var would do the same, after you not have any code for different traps. But this is not the problem.

For your problem:
1) Check where the middle of your object is! If you modeled the 0,0,0 axis at a corner of the model, there is the startpoint for the distance calculation.
2) Your code is strange:

You should die immediatly if you enter the 60 distance, because the is no timer.

This are the two things I see in my short time without testing. Maybe it fix it.
My dream is to develope games, which makes fun when I create it and fun when other people play it.
PM
TazMan