Product Chat / Game Guru and consistant framerate in standalone games

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Feb 2016 14:13 Edited at: 4th Feb 2016 14:38
Game Guru is probably the best game creator on the market at the moment that gives complete novices the ease and accessibility of fulfilling their dreams of creating games and becoming an indie game developer for a decent price. I am currently developing a Sci-Fi themed game of my own and decided to take a break and see what the rest of the Game Guru community has being making, mainly t get some inspiration and to see what kind of standard to strive to.

I played a couple of standalone games and one of the best so far that I played being 'Curse of the Draugr' by Slaur3n, which involves finding notes while being chased by a monster a la the 'Slender man' games. It was a really decently made game with full voice acting and a moody ambient atmosphere, however the one thing that ruined the whole experience for me was the awful framerate issues that made the game grind to a crawl at times, which made the experience frustrating. Even resorting to turning down settings to low in the3 in game menu still game me issues, even though it made it at least playable.

Now my computer is not a top of the line gaming PC, but it is a mid range machine suitable for gaming and is barely a year old. It will run the new Star Wars Battlefront game on mid-high settings and still keep a decent framerate. I don't understand how these standalone games would be able to run at such a low framerate when they simply don't have the same graphical sophistication as Battlefront does.

I have also tested the standalone creator for myself and there seems to be a drastic difference in framerate from running in editor and then running in a standalone. For example, the demo game 'Get to the River' seems to have significantly higher framerate when running in editor than it does as a standalone. Why is this?
PM
synchromesh
Forum Support