Scripts / Time based game script....

Author
Message
ShN33Ky
Game Guru Backer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2013
Location: San Clemente ca.
Posted: 31st Jan 2016 21:57 Edited at: 31st Jan 2016 22:03
Anybody know where I can find a good timer script? as in beat the clock type objective

Any help would greatly be appreciated....ty
Processor: Intel(R) i7-4700MQ CPU @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz Installed memory (RAM): 16.0 GB (15.8 GB usable) System type: 64-bit Operating System,x64-based processor

Start the day by righting your wrongs then end you day right so you don't have to do it again tomorrow ...

sHn33Ky
Belidos
3D Media Maker
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Playing: The Game
Posted: 1st Feb 2016 07:58
isn't there already a default script in the scriptbank for that?
ShN33Ky
Game Guru Backer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2013
Location: San Clemente ca.
Posted: 1st Feb 2016 15:27
besides the proxmine script I cant find one! I have found several scripts here on the boards that work of but I need one that is entity based. If it's in a trigerzone the countdown stops if player is to far out of zone!
Processor: Intel(R) i7-4700MQ CPU @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz Installed memory (RAM): 16.0 GB (15.8 GB usable) System type: 64-bit Operating System,x64-based processor

Start the day by righting your wrongs then end you day right so you don't have to do it again tomorrow ...

sHn33Ky
perelect
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posted: 2nd Feb 2016 09:07
Quote: " I have found several scripts here on the boards that work of but I need one that is entity based. If it's in a trigerzone the countdown stops if player is to far out of zone!"


ShN33Ky,

if there is a trigger zone one that works you could try to just replace the
if g_Entity[e]['plrinzone'] references with

if PlayerDist < 2000 -- change this value to suit your needs
or if PlayerDist > 2000

but you will need to place PlayerDist = GetPlayerDistance(e) at the start of the script.
here's a quick example.

I could write one for you, but i'm not sure what you want, if you give me some more details in point form on how it works it would help.
like how the countdown starts and stops, etc

player in zone example


converted to player distance


Desktop: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.6GHz, Windows 8.1 64-bit, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Display Memory: 4018 MB. Resolution 1360x768, Passmark 3528.
Laptop: Pavilion dv6 Notebook, Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30 GHz, Win 7 64 bit, 16 GB Ram, Radeon (TM) HD 6490M, 2336 MB Memory. Resolution 1366x768, Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000. (WEI 5.8)
ShN33Ky
Game Guru Backer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2013
Location: San Clemente ca.
Posted: 3rd Feb 2016 16:15
Thanks Perelect .....I am using a health reduction script that works very well called radioactive_zone written by Tarkus1971

https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/211350.

But a pure clock script would be nice ....I am simulating an astronaut space walk situation where there is only so much oxygen and player must complete objectives within a given time frame! If you make something let me know ....TY

also trying to mute player foot steps on terrain ....I have tried muting audio's in the materials file but I see it's in the core so if you have any solutions they would be surely appreciated...

TY....
Processor: Intel(R) i7-4700MQ CPU @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz Installed memory (RAM): 16.0 GB (15.8 GB usable) System type: 64-bit Operating System,x64-based processor

Start the day by righting your wrongs then end you day right so you don't have to do it again tomorrow ...

sHn33Ky
perelect
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posted: 3rd Feb 2016 19:45 Edited at: 3rd Feb 2016 20:50
Quote: "also trying to mute player foot steps on terrain ....I have tried muting audio's in the materials file but I see it's in the core so if you have any solutions they would be surely appreciated..."



Yes, for the player sounds I do it manually by renaming the audio files. You cannot script that yet.

The foot steps noise for the terrain are in audiobank\materials
0grassA1.wav to 0grassA4.wav

The rest of the players sounds like..
That heartbeat noise is in audiobank\voices\player and playerloud folders.

I replace\rename the heartbeat.wav with the silence.wav file that's in the misc folder.

Just remember you have to shutdown and restart GG when you change audio files.
Also remember If you revalidate GG or a new update comes out the changed files will be overwritten.

Ill make a timer script as well,

Cheers
Desktop: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.6GHz, Windows 8.1 64-bit, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Display Memory: 4018 MB. Resolution 1360x768, Passmark 3528.
Laptop: Pavilion dv6 Notebook, Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30 GHz, Win 7 64 bit, 16 GB Ram, Radeon (TM) HD 6490M, 2336 MB Memory. Resolution 1366x768, Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000. (WEI 5.8)
smallg
Community Leader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 3rd Feb 2016 21:22
i have an oxygen script i made for harry and he has been kind enough to agree to let me post it here.
it uses 1 always active object with oxygen_level.lua


and then you place zones in the areas which will count as indoors (to stop the oxygen depleting) with go_inside.lua
life\'s one big game

windows vista ultimate

i5 @3.3ghz, 4gb ram, AMD R9 200 series , directx 11

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ShN33Ky
Game Guru Backer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2013
Location: San Clemente ca.
Posted: 3rd Feb 2016 22:59
Again what a great support team you gents are......I am almost ready with this game! Still have to ask Harry if he minds me using his Astragate! Feel free to let him know his work and yours is being appreciated in this thread.....

Here is a sHn33K-P33K !

cheers gentlemen ....
Processor: Intel(R) i7-4700MQ CPU @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz Installed memory (RAM): 16.0 GB (15.8 GB usable) System type: 64-bit Operating System,x64-based processor

Start the day by righting your wrongs then end you day right so you don't have to do it again tomorrow ...

sHn33Ky

Attachments

Login to view attachments
HarryWever
3D Media Maker
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2010
Location: below Sea level
Posted: 3rd Feb 2016 23:24
Hi,
You can use the astragate for what you want. no problem. and that is for all of my free stuff
And happy to see it in use in a game
i Still need to update the fpe file of the middle section of the astragate , the transparancy is changed in gg to 3 i believe.

Harry




Harry
PM
perelect
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posted: 4th Feb 2016 08:01
Thanks for the scripts Harry and smallg.
Cheers
Desktop: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.6GHz, Windows 8.1 64-bit, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Display Memory: 4018 MB. Resolution 1360x768, Passmark 3528.
Laptop: Pavilion dv6 Notebook, Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30 GHz, Win 7 64 bit, 16 GB Ram, Radeon (TM) HD 6490M, 2336 MB Memory. Resolution 1366x768, Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000. (WEI 5.8)
ShN33Ky
Game Guru Backer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2013
Location: San Clemente ca.
Posted: 4th Feb 2016 16:06
Thanks Harry.....your Astragate is awesome and I have found many uses for it! In my game I'm using the ceiling fan script on the astragate ring for continues rotation! I have used several different opaque textures in the atragate center with stunning affects! Very nice model....cheers
Processor: Intel(R) i7-4700MQ CPU @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz Installed memory (RAM): 16.0 GB (15.8 GB usable) System type: 64-bit Operating System,x64-based processor

Start the day by righting your wrongs then end you day right so you don't have to do it again tomorrow ...

sHn33Ky
ShN33Ky
Game Guru Backer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2013
Location: San Clemente ca.
Posted: 14th Feb 2016 22:10
Hi Guy's.....my game is done and is in the showcase!!!


Thanks for all your help....cheers!
Processor: Intel(R) i7-4700MQ CPU @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz Installed memory (RAM): 16.0 GB (15.8 GB usable) System type: 64-bit Operating System,x64-based processor

Start the day by righting your wrongs then end you day right so you don't have to do it again tomorrow ...

sHn33Ky

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-03 10:19:18
Your offset time is: 2024-05-03 10:19:18