Feature Creep / Display Messeage Edit

Author
Message
kcan
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2015
Location:
Posted: 15th Dec 2015 12:54
Hi,
GameGuru not allow change display messeage.
For example if any Item, weapon or When the point doors automatically
text appears. My suggestion GameGuru allow this change messeage.
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Playing: The Game
Posted: 15th Dec 2015 17:27
You can change all of those messages by editing the .lua file associated with the item.

For example in the door.lua file you can find the line:



and change it to:



and instead of saying "The door is locked. Press E key to unlock door", it will say "Haha punk, you need a key. Hit that E button if ya got one!"
kcan
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2015
Location:
Posted: 15th Dec 2015 17:55 Edited at: 16th Dec 2015 08:22
Thank you for help, this your reply is important.
But door.lua file available only 1 file and need to create a copy for not change orginal file.
I want display messeage settings for every door in properies section. This will be provide more easy.
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Playing: The Game
Posted: 16th Dec 2015 10:27 Edited at: 16th Dec 2015 10:36
If you want a different message for each door then you need to make multiple copies of the door.lua, edit them and rename them:

For each one open up door.lua, and edit in the message you want, then find the lines:


and


and in each line change door to whatever you want to name the file.

I've attached 5 door scripts with the inits and mains already changed for you, all you have to do is change the prompts in each one to say whatever you want it to say, that should make it easier for you.

For example: If you want to call the script door2.lua then change door_init and door_main to door2_init and door2_main, then save it as door2.lua

Do this for each door you want to have a different message.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
kcan
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2015
Location:
Posted: 16th Dec 2015 11:33
Thank you for reply, but GameGuru not provide easy to use. Find, edit, copy and investigate code/script = time-consuming / waste of time.
actually GameGuru need allow provide more easy possible. but for this new update does not appear.
PM
Belidos
3D Media Maker
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2015
Playing: The Game
Posted: 16th Dec 2015 11:37
Ah ok, so you're suggesting an automated way to do it inside the editor, now I understand, your original post made it seem as if you thought that you couldn't do it at all.
kcan
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2015
Location:
Posted: 16th Dec 2015 12:20
Exactly!
PM
smallg
Community Leader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 16th Dec 2015 19:03
it would be nice to get some generic property fields which can be referenced by the fpe and then seen in the editor and also read and changed by lua
then you could have something like this easily possible via a couple boxes
i.e.
fpe;
properties box 1 = "Door is locked, find a key to unlock it"
properties box 2 = "Press E to unlock the door"
etc
you'd see the same thing (in a minimise-able menu) in the properties panel in the editor.
and then in the lua script it would read something like this
if g_Entity[e]['haskey'] == 1 then
Prompt(g_Entity[e]['properties_box_2'])
if g_KeyPressE == 1 then
SetActivated(e,1)
end
else
Prompt(g_Entity[e]['properties_box_1'])
end
life\'s one big game

windows vista ultimate

i5 @3.3ghz, 4gb ram, AMD R9 200 series , directx 11
kcan
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2015
Location:
Posted: 18th Dec 2015 09:48
Or something like that https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/214043
PM

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-02 08:56:35
Your offset time is: 2024-05-02 08:56:35