Scripts / Inventory System

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Nov 2015 18:56
Hi, can someone help me make an Inventory System for my survival game, I would but im not very good at scripting.
I had in mind something similar to DayZ & Dead Island type, If instrested in helping me please let me know & i can send you pics and info, Thanks!
Bryant (AKA-LoneWolf/SpinFire97)
PM
Yogendra
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Dec 2015 13:49
Please check this Address
https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/207801
SpinFire97
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Dec 2015 15:33
Thanks I will
PM
smallg
Community Leader
Years of Service
User Offline
i do not currently have an inventory script but i'll add something after the image commands get added, i'm sure moshroom will have 1 before me though, keep an eye on the store, his scripts are great
life\'s one big game

windows vista ultimate

i5 @3.3ghz, 4gb ram, AMD R9 200 series , directx 11
SpinFire97
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Dec 2015 22:14
Okay thanks and i seen them by moshroom but how would they work you think with modern day survival game and are the easy to customize
PM
Moshroom
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Dec 2015 17:02
Thank you for your kind words, smallg. I must say that your advices have been most helpful in my journey of learning Lua.

SpinFire97, I try to make my scripts (especially the ones published in the store) as easy to customize as possible. I use comments in the code to explain everything the script does and constants in the beginning of the script to make it easier for user to change all the numeric values without breaking the script. The default inventory items in my menu script can be converted from fantasy to modern by changing one line in the top (if there is a shop script in the map, this needs to be done in it too):

For example: