Scripts / Absolute noob question: Custom script

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Apr 2015 16:16 Edited at: 6th Apr 2015 16:28
okay, i tried around a bit myself and also read some stuff that i could find, but here´s the point i have to ask:..
i know that if you change a script and save it (renamed of course to not hurt the original) you also have to have >>function_myscriptname_main and myscriptname_init<< at the top ... so here´s my problem... i want to change some values in the ai_soldier.lua script, just some minor changes like ranges and such... so i didn´t change any values yet, just made a copy of it and called it ai_soldier2.lua and changed the function ai_soldier_init to ai_soldier2_init, and also added function ai_soldier2_main, since it gave me an error code "no function called ai_soldier2_main" when i just set the renamed script to a character without changing anything at first...

well now i added those above and tried it again and the error message says like "expected to end at line 8 near <eof>" ?? what ever that means...

so basically my question is: where exactly does the script ask for the changed name, where do i have to rename stuff so the script would work again (some general info would be cery nice, since i´ll need that for other scripts too i guess...) and what else is important if i rename scripts and/or change values in them?

here´s what the script currntly looks like (mostly still original, as mentioned) with some question commentary added

EDIT!
doh..., or can we make it short and just say that´s what "-- LUA Script - precede every function and global member with lowercase name of script" tries to tell me ? oO

so i´d have to rename them all like << ai_soldier2_exit(e) >> ?

and i just realised that ai_soldier_main is called further down... but all threads i have seen so far stated both _main and _init would be opening the scripts (more or less)