Product Chat / Starting out advice

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi Folks,
Just starting out with reloaded, been reading a bit on here about building tools and character development tools which are planned for the future. All sounds great, but in the meantime, what would be to be the best path for bringing in new characters and buildings etc?

I have zero experience with scripts, but not phased about learning. I've played about with Blender & Makehuman. Also had a look at Fragmotion and Animar. There are a bunch of good youtube videos which help in lots of ways, but from what I can make out, using characters from the old FPSC is a bit limited/problematic. It looks as though you need to use an existing reloaded character script as a template. From what I've seen, these are limited to a few weapons. Would that be the same for any character I develop in Blender and alike? Or, is it possible at this stage to assign any weapons to a modified character script?

Many thanks for any help and advice

John
PM
GoDevils
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Feb 2015 22:12
Hi Noobee
Take a look at your forum messages....

As a beta process the current Reloaded still has a lot missing, but there is enough there to develop cool environments, and even basic shooter games. Characters are a bit of a sticky subject, since the Reloaded system supports characters with a specific structure and a specific set of animations. As such the creation of your own characters has some limitations. If you look through these forums you'll find a lot of information on the current state of the subject.

As for additional Characters, there is a way to convert FPS Classic characters so they work in Reloaded. This requires the purchase of the the Animer software from The Game Creator Store. Classic Package #4 has a set of general (non-military) charatcers which can be converted.