3rd Party Models/Media Chat / What To Do When There Are Similar Models?

Author
Forum Support
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Nov 2014 22:04 Edited at: 6th Nov 2014 22:07
Hi everyone, I noticed quite a lot of models being worked on are similar to ones I've been working on for some time but never completed or have yet to complete. Though this is expected and I love the work people have been doing; I was just wondering what is the general practice in this case?

Do you still release the work you are doing? Do you make sure the value isn't priced lower so you don't under cut someone? Or do you just turn a blind eye to it and continue working on your models and price them as you see fit based on the quality of them ignoring what the others may be priced at?

I'm quite new to selling models online so am just curious what people do in these cases.

i7 -2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz - Windows 7 - 8GB RAM - Nivida GeForce 420 GT
JLMoondog
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Nov 2014 22:21
What kind of models did you plan to release?

I haven't really ran into this problem, yet. I was rebuilding my Graveyard Model Pack 59, updating it for FPSCR, but than rolfy swooped in and beat me to it. I decided to scrap the project and go a different route, just because I didn't want to compete with his really well made media.

I think the polite thing to do, if your model is similar in quality, is to price near the same price. Undercutting, though it might get you more sales, can be expected and expect it to happen to you.

It's healthy to have some competition between artist, because it'll drive them to think outside the box and build more awesome media. At the same time, purposely building a similar model just to sell for way less so you take their sales is pretty buttfacish I must say.

Inmortalis Nox
granada
Forum Support
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Nov 2014 22:24