Scripts / Entity Hide Script (Blocking Volume) ?

Author
GameGuru Tool Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Nov 2014 00:34
Hi,

I read Lee added a hide command recently so entities can be seen in the editor but hidden in the game and act as a blocker for the player e.g. can be used to prevent the player going beyond the edges of a map. I think it said this also has no performance impact on the engine which is nice.

I'm new to LUA and need to get my head around a basic script to begin with. Please can someone post a script I can assign to an entity so it will be hidden in the game and prevent the player from walking through it as above?

Thanks

DVader
Years of Service
User Offline
Rolfy posted an object for this quite awhile ago, so you could try that. You don't really need a script, just a 3D plane that has a transparent texture, the collision still works. If I were to add invisible walls, I would simply make a plane that has a 1x1 texture of say blue. Place them as needed, then, when happy change the textures alpha to 0 so you can no longer see them. I think Rolfy's models use LOD to do the same but without having to manually do that, but not having used it couldn't say for sure. Still, you certainly, don't need any scripting for invisible walls.
If you wanted to hide an object via scripting the command has been around for awhile, hide(e). Just add that to whatever script you have for the object in the init part. That way you wouldn't have to mess with textures later on.

Obviously, if there is a new command I have missed or in the wings that speeds things up, as hiding objects doesn't give you the speed boost you would imagine, then I would like to see it myself But that would show in editor and not in game I'm pretty sure.

SPECS: Q6600 CPU. Nvidia 660GTX. 8 Gig Memory. Win 7.
cybernescence
GameGuru Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Cogwheel Chronicles
Posted: 1st Nov 2014 11:04