Product Chat / Terrain Editor

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Oct 2014 17:35
Greetings;

Being a total noob with Reloaded, I have just been fiddling around with stuff, getting used to the software, etc. Creating a custom terrain seems simple enough, but I do have one question: is there some trick to creating shorelines (say a lake or pond or oasis) that are even with the surrounding plain? My few attempts (just doodles, mind you) thus far have all quite steep sided and seemingly very deep. Any hints or tips?

"No matter where you go, there you are."

Buckaroo Banzai
DVader
Years of Service
User Offline
Difficult, if not impossible to make hills like the ones generated by Reloaded as yet. It just takes a lot of tweaking to adjust it manually.
This is a video I did a fair while ago now. Shows the basics in action.

SPECS: Q6600 CPU. Nvidia 660GTX. 8 Gig Memory. Win 7.
RJsDad
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Oct 2014 05:53
So I have discovered! I've done a ton of lowering, smoothing, leveling...(lather, rinse & repeat)...I'm getting satisfying results, but it's a lot of work. Gives me something to do on the weekends!

Great video, btw

Buckaroo Banzai
almightyhood
Years of Service
User Offline
it is a good software for having fun while being creative
i do like dvaders vids but have not watched all of this 1 yet, did you try test game and f9 for fine tuning your terrain sculpting?, i find that its abit easier to get those smaller adjustments.

evga GeForce gtx 750 ti boost2.0 2gb gddr5. win 8.1 quad core 4gb ram.
PM
RJsDad
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Oct 2014 00:45
As a matter of fact, I have been using test & F9 and have found that with a little patience, you can get some really good results. It just takes time to get the proper "touch".

Buckaroo Banzai
Go Devils
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Oct 2014 06:53