Product Chat / Why to develop games for the PC platform

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Jul 2014 18:41 Edited at: 5th Jul 2014 18:51
Hello,

I understand that FPS Reloaded is for the Windows PC platform. If I am correct, what is the advantage of developing a game for the PC? I ask this question because I see that most of the game development goes to Android and iOS mobile devices like phones and tablets. Also, there is a big market for game consoles like XBox, Nintendo, etc. I am really interested in getting information about the reasons to develop games for the PC platform. Several questions come to my head like, for example, what is the potential public for a game developed for the PC? I am sorry if my question is a bit ingenuous, but I am new to this subject. I will very much appreciate your feedback.

Respectfully,

Jorge Maldonado
PM
smallg
Community Leader
Years of Service
User Offline
millions of people play games on pc, doesnt really matter what you make them for though, someone will always think it's better on something else, that is just the nature of things.
and i would say most game development seems to go to android and ios because the games are generally small and take much less time to make compared to a full pc game which can (and likely will) takes years plus most games that are on phone have already been done on pc in some form or another

life's one big game

windows vista ultimate

i5 @3.3ghz, 4gb ram, geforce gtx460, directx 11
DVader
Years of Service
User Offline
Mobile devices are a bit of a new market and are quite good for casual purchases, at least for certain games. However for good FPS games you can't beat a PC really. Personally I am not a major fan of mobile apps in general, and don't consider them to be more than a quick time filler. This is mostly the controls fault, but control is a major issue with games imo! Of course if you really want to try mobile app dev try AGK, I made Moonsnaker with it.