3rd Party Models/Media Chat / Transparent windows turn out solid after importing from milk shape. Any suggestions?

Author
Game Guru Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: witcher 3
Posted: 12th Jun 2014 21:53
I'm pretty new to milk shape so I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong. after making my own custom see through window I exported it, added the texture file and fpe and put it into reloaded. After running a test game I looked at the model and the window is solid(you cant see through it). So am I skipping a step somewhere or does the transparency not transfer over from milk shape? If anyone has any suggestions I would be very grateful!
PM
Gtox
3D Media Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Jun 2014 07:56
I'm no expert, but as far as I know, transparency must be done in a photoediting program (GIMP or Photoshop), using the alpha channel.
mguy1122
Game Guru Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Jun 2014 17:44
I never thought to try that. I have gimp so I will give it a try. Thanks for the suggestion.
PM
mguy1122
Game Guru Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Jun 2014 18:11
I added the Alpha channel to the texture and did a test with a transparent cube. I'm still getting the same problem of it not being transparent. Adding the Alpha channel to my texture was one thing I missed,so there seems to be another important step I'm not doing to get it to work.
PM
Gtox
3D Media Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Jun 2014 20:53
Open up your texture image in GIMP.
Right click on the layer with the image.
Select 'Add layer mask'
Choose a grey colour (darker = more transparency)
Making sure that the layer mask is selected, paint the grey over the area you want to be transparent (you should see the chequered background appear behind the texture).
Export as .dds file.
mguy1122
Game Guru Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Jun 2014 21:39