Product Chat / Reloaded Already Low On Ammo?

Author
GameGuru Tool Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Feb 2014 22:26
I backed Reloaded early on as a Gold pledger and glad I did because FPSC is an awesome concept and product.

FPSC Classic lasted so long partially due to lack of competition at that time before products like Unity and UDK became free to use but mostly because it allowed total newbies to come in, make a FPS and advance to some really good projects.

I released my 1st commercial FPS in 2013 for Android and I can honestly say the vast majority of skills required to achieve this were learned in FPSC from creating textures and models to writing scripts. FPSC has not just been a lot of fun to use but a genuine tool for learning game development.

So now we need to look at whats going wrong for Reloaded.

1. Firstly I think Reloaded has gotten way ahead of itself with grand ideas of huge game worlds, advanced enemy AI and amazing physics without doing the ground work to back this up. As the engine is currently struggling with all of these it only stands to bring more criticism which is a lesson TGC have not learned from the FPSC X10 days.

2. Reloaded is suffering because so far it has failed to address the core issues which prevented FPSC Classic going any further. Instead of starting with a solid foundation we have already moved onto things like Occulus Rift support which the community are rightly questioning.

3. There does not appear to be any road map for Reloaded. Features are thrown in and 'improved' here and there without finishing anything to an acceptable level of quality. It just seems like TGC are throwing mud at Reloaded and seeing what sticks.