Product Chat / Escape the Compound demo. First scripting test.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi all. I'm reasonably late to the alpha cascade video list, but have had various, issues, while using the new version.

However, after several attempts at a Roman setting failing with numerous crashes of black death, I decided to try something different. I wanted to try out scripting when I first heard the news it was going to be implemented in the update. So, with no Lua knowledge whatsoever I have come up with this little demo. I'm fairly well versed in DB and AGK, so editing existing Lua scripts presented little difficulty, even though I have no real knowledge of the language, I can still work out what is happening easily enough. Although the language seems a little odd with this sort of statement to me.

Why use then at all? An endif seems adequate. Still the joys of not knowing a new language lol. Perhaps it is possible but I haven't had the sense to try

Anyway, here is the video, I tried to get it looking fairly decent, and if not limited by crash issues in the later stages, would have tried to pretty it up a little more. Hope you like it!

Oh, the scripting I edited is adequate but a little dodgy on the key collect. Not quite sure how I can make a message to stay up longer yet. Apart from looking at the door script a little more and working out how the states are working. Which I haven't really looked at much yet as it involves a lot of loops lol.

Here is the video of my little test, it includes some very basic puzzles and a bit of shooting action!

TattieBoJangle
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jan 2014 01:26
Nice work

DVader
Years of Service
User Offline
Thanks Tattie, took a bit of patience I tell you!

Teabone
Forum Support
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jan 2014 04:29
Very good now all you need is clutter. Check out the post-apocalyptic packs and start littering up the ground lol

almightyhood
Years of Service
User Offline