Product Chat / The next step (Re: Lee's Blog question)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Dec 2013 12:39
Lee said in his last blog: 'I am curious what the community (you guys and gals) would have me do at this point.'

I thought this was an interesting question and perhaps deserved a thread here.

For me, it still has to be about performance and stability. It's not sexy, but if any lessons can be learnt from classic FPSC, I think it's that piling new features on top of an outdated and somewhat flaky engine doesn't result in games people want to play.

Any thoughts?

"It's power babe, power. I don't create it, I own it."
PM
almightyhood
Years of Service
User Offline
well tbh I have yet to see any performance improvements, so to me it seems I need new hardware rather than improved software. so maybe a feature or 2 might be nice, and then some more performance. but I don't know what features he could add though, but then im no doctor so therefore have no patience lol.

have fun stay safe

hood
PM
DVader
Years of Service
User Offline
I must admit, each update has got slightly slower for me. So performance is still top priority. I'm not quite sure what is causing it but the new update, although reporting a slightly better fps than before, seems laggier somehow. The pop up can be rather jarring at times also, but I imagine that will be fixed.

xCept
AGK Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Performance is still the biggest problem I see. My computer can eat up any game I throw at it at maximum settings and 1920x1080 resolution, but FPSC:R often struggles to stay above 30 FPS even on the default river map which has very few assets.

However, I also know Lee is probably going insane trying to rid bottlenecks so it may be healthier for him to go on to some other tasks for awhile. What I do not know.

PC SPECS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, AMD Phenom X6 1100T 3.60 GHz CPU, NVIDIA Geforce GTX-680 2GB GPU, G.SKILL 16GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) RAM
otrov77